Visual effects: linking avatars and Linking Books

Community, Project, and Forum Suggestions

Moderator: OpenUru.org Moderators

75th Trombone

Visual effects: linking avatars and Linking Books

Post by 75th Trombone »

I would like to nominate myself as the director and head slave driver of the following additions to Uru once the source is released, which I have been rabid about since 2002:
  • * Moving linking panels on Linking Books.
    * A visual particle effect on linking avatars.
Now unfortunately, I am not a programmer. However, I have been obsessed with these two features for more than half a decade, and I have very particular ideas of how they could/should be pulled off. So if you ARE the right kind of programmer and are even a quarter as enthused about these features as I am, I would be happy to take partial credit for all your work^w^w^w^w^w^w^w^w^w help with them in any way I can.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Visual effects: linking avatars and Linking Books

Post by admin »

Ideas are good. Even if you can't implement them yourself, you might have willing friends who can.

If you can gather capable hands, please submit an application for project space.

How? Good question. Details to come, but an application may include at least a viable project plan, project subdomain name (e.g. Trombone.OpenUru.org), proposed home page, forum specs (title, membership type, etc), and of course, reading the rules (also to come).
realXCV

Post by realXCV »

Moving like they do in Myst (1-5) or like they should do (canon) ?
Braggi

Post by Braggi »

Hi 75th.

You might also want to poke around and bend the ear of Andylegate over the Maintainers. IIRC, there is a post there where someone had cooked up a flyby of Teledahn for the linking panel of the book. Don't think it was ever implemented, but it was described as definitely do-able.
GregW11

Post by GregW11 »