Is anyone grabbing an Occulus rift visor for development?

Ask away

Moderator: OpenUru.org Moderators

Li'Sah

Is anyone grabbing an Occulus rift visor for development?

Post by Li'Sah »

Hi,

I'm rewriting this post because I spazzed out the first time and wound up sounding like a used car salesman.

There is a new VR visor on kick starter called the Occulus Rift. I very much want to buy this visor for myself and experience Uru on a deeper level. The catch is that the prototype they are offering is not "consumer ready." Instead, it is part of a full developer kit and the plug-n-play version is probably a year or two away. :geek:

Unfortunately, I am not a developer, but since Uru is now open source integration of a developer prototype is kinda sorta feasible.

First, I would like to know if anyone is already working with this in Uru open source?

Second--If not, how miserably difficult would it be for a total amateur like myself to configure a 3d visor to Uru? Can I learn? Are there instructions?

Also, I am confused as to why the prototype wouldn't have some basic functionality in Uru, since it's fully rendered 3d. I know that I'd probably have to forego head tracking and other advanced features, but shouldn't the visor do Something?

Here's the link I started with
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/152 ... o-the-game

I've been scouring the FAQ s and related articles and there just isn't enough info yet, so I'm asking in this forum and emailing the visor company.

Any insight or guidance would be deeply appreciated!
Last edited by Li'Sah on Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:26 am, edited 3 times in total.
Hoikas

Re: Is anyone grabbing an Occulus rift visor for development

Post by Hoikas »

We're doing good to write bugfixes at this point, given the severe case of disillusionment and developer discouragement. :?
Li'Sah

Post by Li'Sah »

Man, I was hoping things were better than that . . . Uru certainly has its ups and downs at every stage.
Lyrositor

Post by Lyrositor »