Backporting H-uru changes to OU

CyanWorlds.com Engine Project Management
Hoikas

Backporting H-uru changes to OU

Post by Hoikas »

It's finally my Christmas break, so I have a bit of free time to devote to backporting some of the more valuable H-uru changes to the OU repo. I know that several of them would be greatly appreciated by the users. But, before I begin, I'd need a somewhat concise explanation of how I would go about backporting the changes to OU. Is there some hg-git magic that I need to do, should I be cherry-picking into a git branch and doing patch magic, or any other number of things? I'm no VCS expert, and I tend to forgo most all tools in favor of relying on my own abilities. In other words, I'd need a hobbyist level explanation ;)

Also I have been considering maintaining a list of patches for backporting along with the rationale and perceived level of effort in doing so. Given that I've been pretty well involved in most of the H-uru changes, this wouldn't be that difficult of a task. Is there any interest in that sort of thing from you guys?
rarified

Re: Backporting H-uru changes to OU

Post by rarified »

Hi Hoikas,

I didn't see this till I was ready to retire so this is just a brief synopsis.

What I've done so far is to keep a Git clone of H-uru's repo, do 'git diff' for the changesets related to a particular fix, and see if that will apply to the current head revision of the OU repo. Some tweaking is to be expected (use a patch program that ignores line separator differences if you have one). Keep things in a patch format, and point me at it when ready. Then we'll make it available as a proposed change so everyone can see the diffs and comment there. When everyone is happy, we'll apply it directly to the OU repo.