VS2010

Discussions About CyanWorlds.com Engine Client & Plugin
Skoader
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:27 am

VS2010

Post by Skoader » Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:54 am

Is there any particular reason cwe-ou hasn't been updated for VS2010?
I'd offer to do the work required, but don't want to step on any toes.

User avatar
branan
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:35 pm

Re: VS2010

Post by branan » Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:45 am

It's my understanding that the OpenUru CWE repositories are meant (at least for now) to remain as compatible as possible with Cyan's existing build system and infrastructure. This means upgrades to libraries and compilers are likely not in the cards.

If you're interested in helping to work on CWE using the latest compilers, libraries, and technologies, I'd encourage you to come to the Dark Side and contribute to the H'uru fork.

User avatar
Mac_Fife
Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:38 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: VS2010

Post by Mac_Fife » Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:14 pm

Yep, Branan's right. to ease the flow trying to get thing back into Cyan, we need to keep the best alignment we can with Cyan's build engine which still uses VS2003 and OU was asked to maintain a repo that as closely as possible matched Cyan MOULa code. So there's a kind of two-way flow: Changes that come in from the community get merged into a build that ought to be compatible with Cyan's code so the merge at their end is easier, then Cyan push out an "offical" version back to OU.
Mac_Fife
OpenUru.org wiki wrangler

User avatar
JWPlatt
Member
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Everywhere, all at once

Re: VS2010

Post by JWPlatt » Sun Mar 04, 2012 4:59 pm

It's worth repeating here, so that the facts do not get lost in the noise, that the Foundry is also capable of creating other build environments for community use, including VS2010 so that newer code can be tested on those platforms too. The VS2003 build is just one such environment. Obviously, it was important to our mission to get it done first.
Perfect speed is being there.

Deledrius
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: VS2010

Post by Deledrius » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:44 am

JWPlatt wrote:It's worth repeating here, so that the facts do not get lost in the noise, that the Foundry is also capable of creating other build environments for community use, including VS2010 so that newer code can be tested on those platforms too. The VS2003 build is just one such environment. Obviously, it was important to our mission to get it done first.
For clarification, because I'm not entirely sure which you mean: are you saying that this is a service Foundry provides at this moment, or that it is something it can be configured to do and will provide as soon as that work has been done?

User avatar
Lyrositor
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: VS2010

Post by Lyrositor » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:55 am

I'm not an expert on this, but I think he means the latter. When you look at the configurations for Jenkins, there's only one, "default".
Lyrositor
Explorer #16601888
To D'ni, or not to D'ni. There is no question.
Image

Deledrius
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: VS2010

Post by Deledrius » Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:11 am

That's what I thought, but just wanted to double-check. :) Thanks.

User avatar
rarified
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:48 pm
Location: Colorado, US

Re: VS2010

Post by rarified » Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:00 am

To be a little more clear; all the tools such as VS2010 are installed on the windows builder right now. If a request comes in to build from a repository with those tools, we're ready now.

_R
One of the OpenUru toolsmiths... a bookbinder.

User avatar
Lyrositor
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: VS2010

Post by Lyrositor » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:56 pm

So do you mean the actual code CAN be built with Visual Studio 2010, with no changes? If that's so, could we have those instructions ourselves (if there are specific instructions) so that we can build our own CWE-OU clients without having to require your time to do it?
Lyrositor
Explorer #16601888
To D'ni, or not to D'ni. There is no question.
Image

Skoader
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:27 am

Re: VS2010

Post by Skoader » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:40 pm

Oh, I thought cwe would stay in line with Cyan, while cwe-ou was permitted a little more freedom, but clearly I was mistaken.
So the only options for those without VS2003 are to make the required changes themselves or join the Dark Side. *evil laugh* :mrgreen:

Thanks for the clarification.

Lyrositor,
No, the cwe-ou code won't compile under 2010 without some work. That's what I was offering to do.

Post Reply

Return to “CyanWorlds.com Engine - Client & Plugin”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest